INR (₹)
India Rupee
United States Dollar

Vedic Sun Sign Calculator: Find Your True Sign Easily

Created by Asttrolok in Astrology 1 Nov 2023
Views: 722
Vedic Sun Sign Calculator: Find Your True Sign Easily

Vedic astrology, referred to as Jyotish, hails from India as an ancient astrological system with its origins. Unlike Western astrology, which is primarily based on the position of the Sun at the time of your birth, Vedic astrology considers the position of the Moon as the primary factor in determining your Sun sign, known as your Vedic Sun sign. In this blog, we will explore how you can determine your Vedic Sun sign and gain insights into your personality and life based on this fascinating system of astrology.

know more about Your Vedic Sun Sign. Get an online astrology consultation by the world-renowned astrologer Mr. Alok Khandelwal.

Understanding Vedic Astrology

Before we delve into the process of determining your Vedic Sun sign, let's briefly understand the key principles of Vedic astrology:

Lunar Zodiac: Vedic astrology uses the Sidereal Zodiac, which is based on the actual positions of stars and constellations. The Moon's placement in one of these constellations at the time of your birth is crucial in determining your Vedic Sun sign.

Nakshatras: In Vedic astrology, the Sidereal Zodiac is divided into 12 signs, just like Western astrology. However, each sign is further divided into 27 Nakshatras or lunar constellations. The Nakshatras provide unique qualities and characteristics to each Vedic Sun sign.

Dashas: Vedic astrology uses planetary periods known as Dashas, which indicate the influence of specific planets at different stages of your life. These Dashas are calculated based on your Vedic Sun sign and play a significant role in Vedic astrology predictions.

Determining Your Vedic Sun Sign

Now, let's walk through the steps to determine your Vedic Sun sign:

Step 1: Find Your Birth Chart

To determine your Vedic Sun sign, you'll need an accurate birth chart. You can obtain your birth chart from various online astrology websites or consult with a Vedic astrologer for a detailed analysis. Your birth chart will show the positions of the Sun, Moon, and other planets at the time of your birth.

Step 2: Identify Your Moon Sign

Your Vedic Sun sign is closely tied to your Moon sign. In Vedic astrology, the Moon sign carries great importance and represents your inner self and emotions. To find your Moon sign, look at your birth chart and identify the Nakshatra (lunar constellation) in which your Moon is placed.

Step 3: Determine Your Vedic Sun Sign

Once you've identified your Moon sign Nakshatra, you can determine your Vedic Sun sign. Each Nakshatra falls under a specific Vedic Sun sign. Here's a breakdown of the Nakshatras and their corresponding Vedic Sun signs:

1. Ashwini, Bharani, Krittika (1st quarter): Aries

2. Krittika (2nd, 3rd, and 4th quarters), Rohini, Mrigashira: Taurus

3. Ardra, Punarvasu (1st and 2nd quarters): Gemini

4. Punarvasu (3rd and 4th quarters), Pushya, Ashlesha: Cancer

5. Magha, Purva Phalguni, Uttara Phalguni (1st quarter): Leo

6. Uttara Phalguni (2nd, 3rd, and 4th quarters), Hasta, Chitra (1st quarter): Virgo

7. Chitra (2nd, 3rd, and 4th quarters), Swati, Vishakha (1st and 2nd quarters): Libra

8. Vishakha (3rd and 4th quarters), Anuradha, Jyeshtha: Scorpio

9. Mula, Purva Ashadha (1st quarter): Sagittarius

10. Purva Ashadha (2nd, 3rd, and 4th quarters), Uttara Ashadha, Shravana: Capricorn

11. Dhanishta, Shatabhisha, Purva Bhadrapada (1st quarter): Aquarius

12. Purva Bhadrapada (2nd, 3rd, and 4th quarters), Uttara Bhadrapada, Revati: Pisces

Once you've determined your Vedic Sun sign based on your Moon sign Nakshatra, you'll gain insights into your personality, traits, and characteristics associated with that sign.

Read also: 4 Elements in Zodiac Signs: Fire, Earth, Air, Water

Vedic Sun Sign Meanings

Let's briefly explore the meanings and characteristics of each Vedic Sun sign:

Aries (Mesha): Those with an Aries Vedic Sun sign are known for their leadership qualities, assertiveness, and pioneering spirit. They are natural go-getters and love taking on challenges.

Taurus (Vrishabha): Taureans are known for their practicality, determination, and love for material comforts. They are reliable and value stability in their lives.

Gemini (Mithuna): Geminis are known for their curiosity, adaptability, and excellent communication skills. They have a quick wit and enjoy learning and socializing.

Cancer (Karka): Cancerians are nurturing, empathetic, and deeply connected to their emotions. They are known for their strong family bonds and intuitive nature.

Leo (Simha): Leos are confident, charismatic, and natural leaders. They thrive in the spotlight and have a flair for creativity and self-expression.

Virgo (Kanya): Virgos are detail-oriented, analytical, and perfectionists. They thrive in endeavours demanding meticulousness and a well-structured approach.

Libra (Tula): Librans are known for their diplomacy, charm, and sense of fairness. They value harmony in their relationships and enjoy socializing.

Scorpio (Vrishchika): Scorpios are passionate, determined, and known for their intense emotions. They have a strong sense of purpose and are often seen as transformative individuals.

Sagittarius (Dhanu): Sagittarians are adventurous, optimistic, and seekers of knowledge. They have a love for exploration and are open-minded.

Capricorn (Makara): Capricorns are disciplined, responsible, and value hard work. They are often seen as reliable and ambitious individuals.

Aquarius (Kumbha): Aquarians are innovative, progressive, and independent thinkers. They often advocate for social causes and have a strong sense of individuality.

Pisces (Meena): Pisceans are intuitive, compassionate, and artistic. They have a deep connection to their inner selves and are often creative individuals.

Determining your Vedic Sun sign based on your Moon sign Nakshatra is a fascinating journey into the world of Vedic astrology. It provides you with valuable insights into your personality, strengths, and characteristics. Keep in mind that Vedic astrology offers a holistic view of your life, including predictions and remedies based on your Vedic Sun sign. Exploring your Vedic Sun sign can be a rewarding experience, helping you better understand

Read also: Vedic vs. Western Astrology: Which is Right for You?

Comments (0)





Mamta Arora

Mamta Arora

Astrology Hindi, English Exp: 3+ Year
Mrs. Riddika Panchal

Mrs. Riddika Panchal

Numerology Expert
Shweta Gupta

Shweta Gupta

Astrology Hindi, English Exp: 8+ Year
Preethi Puthenpura

Preethi Puthenpura

Astrology Hindi, English Exp: 3+ Year
Rachit Dua

Rachit Dua

Astrology | Palmistry Exp: 5+ Year
Laxmi Khandelwal

Laxmi Khandelwal

Astrology Hindi, English Exp: 5+ Year
Rajendra Mahapatra

Rajendra Mahapatra

Astrology Hindi, English Exp: 7+ Year
Ajay Kumar

Ajay Kumar

Astrology Hindi, English Exp: 3+ Year


Share this post with others


When you visit any of our websites, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. This information might be about you, your preferences or your device and is mostly used to make the site work as you expect it to. The information does not usually directly identify you, but it can give you a more personalized web experience. Because we respect your right to privacy, you can choose not to allow some types of cookies. Click on the different category headings to find out more and manage your preferences. Please note, that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience of the site and the services we are able to offer.